Academic Teams


Academic Team

                      Description

 
Biology Team I and II
Mrs. Dawson
Rdawson@mpsnj.org

 
There are four competitions. The competitions are against other local high schools. Four students take 80 question multiple choice tests. Winners are announced after the test. The content includes the Scientific Method, History and Science as a process, Microscopy, Biochemistry, Cells structure and function, Photosynthesis, and Cellular Respiration.

 
Chemistry Team
Mrs. Polhemus  Jpolhemus@mpsnj.org

 
The Chemistry Team is an academic team that competes four times a year against five other local schools.  The Midland Park Chemistry Team meets weekly beginning in November to prepare for the competitions.  

Advanced Chemistry Team
Mrs. Deb Marks 
Debmarks@mpsnj.org

This for all second year and AP level students interested in advanced chemistry topics.  There are meetings throughout the year at which we will prepare for the 4 NJ Science League competitions (January, February, March and April).  Each competition consists of one exam that is made up of 25 Multiple Choice Questions.  Awards are given for individual students and also for teams that score exceptionally high.

Chess
Mr. Grubman                Egrubman@mpsnj.org 

 
The Chess club is open to students in grades 7-12. Students may practice Chess on Tuesday and Thursdays after school. The chess boards are also available to be borrowed during student lunch periods. In the Fall, the Chess Club plays other local high schools

 
High School Bowl
Ms. Manicone
Jmanicone@mpsnj.org 

Academic quiz bowl team that competes with other schools in various NJ tournaments. Meetings are arranged according to competitions schedule

 
Math Team
Mrs. Vandenberghe
Dvandenberghe@mpsnj.org

The Math Team competes in the NJ Math League, Bergen County Math League, AMTNJ Contest and AMC-12 Contest.  The goal of Math Team is to provide advanced math students with an opportunity to explore their interests and talents in mathematics through extracurricular activities designed to promote advanced problem-solving, and to enhance and enrich the regular school curriculum. 

Physics Team
Mrs. DeRitter
Nderitter@mpsnj.org

This team is part of the New Jersey Science League. The New Jersey Science League is a competitive science organization operating within the State of New Jersey. The Science League is unique in both the State and our Nation. Having been started in 1962 by Dr. Mal Sturchio as a chemistry league, the League now offers competitions in biology, chemistry, physics, and earth science for all beginning students.

Competitions are held in January, February, March, and April.

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2017 West Corporation. All rights reserved.