High School Clubs

The following Clubs/Activities are available for High School students, grades 9 through 12. Please see descriptions for information on what the student will do as members of the club. To sign up a student should contact the advisor listed below.

Club

Advisor(s)

Description

AV Club

Mr. Spadacini

Zspadacini@mpsnj.org

TBD

Artists in Action

Mrs. Dorlon

Jdorlon@mpsnj.org

Artists in Action is a club for people who like to work informally in the art medium. It is open to high school and junior high school students. Students choose their own projects and work at their own pace, sometimes alone and sometimes in groups. Please feel free to join us.

Biology –Recycling Club

Mrs. Dawson

Rdawson@mpsnj.org

The Bio-Recycling Club raises awareness about recycling and environmental topics-locally and globally. The Club raises money to adopt members of endangered species, educates the student body about the recycling program and recycles small electronics.

Chorus Club

Mrs. Halliwell

Dhalliwell@mpsnj.org

Madrigals: Singers are selected from the High School Concert Choir through an audition process. Madrigals perform challenging music at the school concerts, out of school functions, and at various other performances

 

Computer Club

Mrs. Vandenberghe

Dvandenberghe@mpsnj.org

The purpose of the Computer Club is to provide an atmosphere in which students who are interested in computers and computer gaming can share their ideas, knowledge and proficiency with students. This club will increase student involvement with STEM and build strong interests in related fields.

 

Diversity Council

Mrs. Goodell

Jgoodell@mpsnj.org

 

TBD

Detention Monitors

Mrs. Marks

Debmarks@mpsnj.org

 

Mrs. Smith

Ksmith@mpsnj.org

 

Fishing Club

Mr. Strohmeyer

Dstrohmeyer@mpsnj.org

TBD

French Club

Mrs. Seminara

Yseminara@mpsnj.org

 

 

TBD

Girl Up

Mrs. Belluco

Hbelluco@mpsnj.org

 

Girls Who Code

Mrs. Vandenberghe

Dvandenberghe@mpsnj.org

The purpose of the Girls Who Code club is to provide an atmosphere for girls to explore and learn about STEM and careers associated with science, technology, engineering and math. This club looks to increase student involvement with STEM and build strong interest among female students in computers

Spectrum (GSA)

Mr. Marino

Pmarino@mpsnj.org

 

Mr. Whelpley

Jwhelphley@mpsnj.org

The Spectrum Club promotes tolerance and acceptance throughout the school community and to provide a safe non-judgmental space for all students. We help empower young people to build a healthy and positive life and become fulfilled and contributing members of the community.

 

Interact/React

Mrs. DeRitter

Nderitter@mpsnj.org

Interact and React Club is Rotary International’s service club for young people ages 12 to 18. The Interact and React clubs are sponsored by Midland Park/Wyckoff Rotary club, which provide support and guidance, but the clubs are self-governing and self-supporting.

Each year, Interact and React clubs complete many community service projects, and participates in many of the town events such as Midland Park Day, tree lighting and town parade. Students run two large community service projects: a fashion show and a car show to raise funds to donate to a local cause, the Gift of Life Program or St. Jude’s Hospital.

The Interact and React club develops student leadership skills, personal integrity, respect for others, and teach the value of community and helping others.

 

IR&S

Chairperson- Mr.Whelpley

Jwhelpley@mpsnj.org

 

Secretary-Mrs. Corcoran

Kcorcoran@mpsnj.org

 

Committee Members:

Mrs. DeRitter

Nderitter@mpsnj.org

 

Mrs. Owens

Mowens@mpsnj.org

 

Library Club 7-12

Ms. Kelley

Mkelley@mpsnj.org

The Library Council is a comprised of students not only interested in reading but also improving the perception of the library/media center. Council members participate in the selection, processing, shelving, and organization of resources. Students enhance the image of the Media Center through decoration and creating new ways to make it a user-friendly environment. Book talks are also held on a periodic basis.

 

Model United Nations

Mrs. Bellucco

Hbellucco@mpsnj.org

 

National Honor Society

Mrs. Stewart

Nstewart@mpsnj.org

Membership in the Richard M. Hartman Chapter of the National Honor Society is open to all Juniors and Seniors who have a minimum 3.5 GPA on a scale of 4.0. These students must have taken a minimum of two Honors/AP classes in each of their Sophomore, Junior and Senior years and have no classes below the college prep level. Students who meet these scholastic requirements are then evaluated by the faculty council on the basis of their leadership.

 

Outdoor Club

Mr. Hamilton

Thamilton@mpsnj.org

The purpose of The Outdoor Club is to promote the growth, understanding, awareness, and appeal of nature through the various activities we sponsor. The Outdoor Club provides adventure and recreation through many outdoor sports in a relaxed setting for students and offers a variety of activities that promote recreation in an alcohol-free and drug-free environment. Our goal and objective is to bring together both seasoned and new outdoors people for exploration of the outdoors, fun, friendship, and enlightenment. Activities may include hiking, biking, rowing, kayaking, paddle boarding (SUP), XC skiing, alpine skiing, snowshoeing, and camping.

Pep Club

Mr. Marino

Pmariano@mpsnj.org

 

Ms. Altemus

Maltemus@mpsnj.org

The Pep club is composed of high school level students. Although the seniors are in charge of planning and organizing pep rallies, underclassmen dominate the planning of spirit week and our homecoming dance. We often have night meetings to accommodate everyone’s schedule. Many hours of planning go into each of the activities, games, and events involved in the hectic spirit week and beyond. We are making it a point to incorporate additional activities beyond October’s spirit week and the three pep rallies a year. The students of the club are very dedicated and have given many hours of their time to boost the spirit of Midland Park High School.

 

Poetry Club

TBD

The poetry club is run by and for high school students who enjoy poetry. At each meeting, students bring favorite poems to share and discuss, as well as presenting their own original works. In the spring, the club will host a poetry fest for the school.

 

Spanish Club

Ms. Valdeon

Gvaldeon@mpsnj.org

The Spanish Club seeks to unite Spanish-speaking students of all different levels in order to learn more about the Spanish language and culture. Members watch Spanish movies, celebrate Spanish customs, ¡Fiestas!, and have a soccer game event in March. The group also holds fundraisers at various times during the school year

 

Take Action

Mr. Rush

Crush@mpsnj.org

 

Ms. Altemus

Maltemus@mpsnj.org

 

Mr. Marino

Pmarino@mpsnj.org

 

 

Thrive Wellness Club

Mrs. Owens

Mowens@mpsnj.org

 

 

 

 


 

 

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2021 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.